The Nobel Peace Prize winners: 2000 to present

1970 – 1989  | 1990 – 1999

2010 — Liu Xiabo, Chinese human rights activist

The Nobel Peace Prize for 2010 was awarded to Liu Xiaobo, currently a prisoner of conscience in China, for "his long and non-violent struggle for fundamental human rights in China." In making the award, the Nobel Committee stated that they have "long believed that...

read more

2008 – Martti Ahtisaari, international diplomat

After a distinguished career with the United Nations and the Finnish Foreign Ministry, Martti Ahtisaari was elected President of the Republic of Finland in 1994. Throughout his career he has been actively involved in conflict resolution, state building and mediation....

read more

2007 – Al Gore and The IPCC, climate change

Al Gore, Jr. is an American environmental activist, author, businessperson, former politician and former journalist. He served as the forty-fifth Vice President of the United States from 1993 to 2001 under President Bill Clinton. Gore was...

read more

2001 – Kofi Annan and the United Nations

He has been called a "rock star of international diplomacy". Born in Kumasi, Ghana in 1938, Kofi Annan is the seventh Secretary-General of the United Nations, and the first to be elected from the ranks of UN staff. In 1962, after receiving a...

read more